Distinguished Service Award


The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) was created in 1940 to honor those who rendered service to the Order beyond the lodge level. The award is presented to Arrowmen, youth and adult, who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The award is presented at National Order of the Arrow Conferences. Since the time the first awards were presented, less than 1000 Distinguished Service Awards have been awarded.

The award is a sterling silver arrowhead bearing an arrow pointing up and to the wearer’s right. The award is suspended from a white neck-ribbon on which red arrows are embroidered. A white square knot embroidered on red cloth is available for uniform wear and a silver arrowhead lapel pin is available for civilian wear.


Year       Wa-La-Moot-Kin Lodge Recipient
2009      Mark P. Hendricks
2006      Stephen F. Gaines
2002      Joshua G. Gana


Centurion Award


The Centurion Award was a national centennial (2015) award which aimed to highlight “Hometown Heroes,” or those Arrowmen who have meaningfully contributed to the forming, maturing and ongoing operational excellence of their local council’s lodge, and who, in doing so, have or will have inspired others to follow in their footsteps. This award was a one-time recognition associated with the centennial anniversary of the OA that is bestowed by the national Order of the Arrow committee.  Accordingly, this recognition was an opportunity to highlight lodge development over the last century and the many individuals, both youth and adult, who were instrumental to this success. Centurion Award honorees serve as exemplars of leadership, modeling to others a commitment to cheerful service as the Order of the Arrow enters its second century of service.


At the time of the award, Centurion Award recipients may be living or deceased and should have provided significant contributions to the lodge’s legacy. Each recipient will be designated as either a youth or adult contributor. The minimum service period is 3 years for a youth contributor or 6 years for an adult contributor. Recipients of the award were provided with a certificate and recognition ribbon consisting of a red and white ribbon and a metallic totem symbolizing the centennial anniversary of the Order of the Arrow.


Over 1800 Arrowmen across the organization have received the Centurion Award. Please join us in congratulating these individuals from our lodge for their exemplary leadership and commitment to cheerful service. Full national recipient list.


Name                           Years of Service
Steve Gaines              June 1971 – January 2015
Hollland St. John        January 1953 – January 2010
William Buchmiller      January 1963 – January 2015
Mike Tesky                  January 1965 – January 2015
Taylor Blanc                January 2006 – January 2015
Ben Johnson               January 1999 – January 2004


Founder’s Award


The Founder’s Award was created to honor and recognize those Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to the lodge. The award is reserved for those Arrowmen who memorialize in their everyday life, the spirit of achievement as described by our founder Dr. E. Urner Goodman.  Nominations are to be made by the Lodge Executive Committee to the Founder’s Award Committee who will chose the recipients. The award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likeness of E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson, with wooden base and brass plate suitable for engraving. Award recipients can also wear the Founder’s Award ribbon, similar to the universal arrow ribbon, except that it is a gold colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon. Lodges may petition the national Order of the Arrow Committee to present up to four awards annually, based on lodge membership. If the lodge presents more than one award, one must be to a youth under the age of 21. The Founder’s Award Committee is made up of the past recipients of the Founder’s Award. 

Year     Youth                                 Adult
2016     -                                         Evan Pollock                
2008    Taylor Blanc                     Jeff Person
2007     Rob Buxbaum                  Michael Blanc
2006     Pete Gibbons                  Wes Johnson
2005     Stephen Ash                   Ben Johnson
2004     Mark Hendricks               —
2003     Jim Gibbons                    Tom Greethurst
1999      Calvin Fulks                     Mike Ash
1998      Paul Ash                          Mike Tesky
1997      Josh Gana                       George Henckel
1996     Nick Bilyard                      Harley Smith
1995     Luke Roach                      Steve Gaines
1994     Mike Anderson                George Petrina Jr.
1993     Lee Calkins                      Harold Bussell
1992     Alan Anderson                Marc Lenzke
1990     Mike Kovis                       Scott Lynch
1989     David Bruggeman           Larry Sorensen
1988     Murray Kuhns                  Kyle Lynch
1987     —                                      Holland St. John
1986    Tony Finfrock                  Bill Buchmiller


Chapter of the Year


Given to the most outstanding Chapter of the given year, determined by a matrix system constructed by the Lodge Chief and approved by the LEC . The Chapter with the highest participation at all Lodge, Section, and National events. To the Chapter that has excelled the most in all aspects of the Lodge Program. The Chapter that has gone above and beyond the call duty in giving cheerful service to the Council and Lodge. NO Chapter may receive the award more than two consecutive years. Voted on by the Lodge Executive Committee.

Tri-Cities – 2014

Blue Mountain Council

Boy Scouts of America

8478 W Gage Blvd

Kennewick, WA 99336

M-F 9-5

509.735.7306 phone

509.735.8653 fax


  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram